

R-25-11 Meeting 25-03 January 22, 2025

AGENDA ITEM 3

AGENDA ITEM

Appointment of the Board of Directors Standing Committee Members and Representatives to Various Bodies, Including the Governing Board of the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District Financing Authority, for Calendar Year 2025

BOARD PRESIDENT'S RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the Board President's appointments to the Board Standing Committees and other bodies, including the Governing Board of the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District Financing Authority, and the compensable status for attendance at these meetings.

SUMMARY

Every year, the newly elected Board President appoints members to each of the Board's Standing Committees, the Governing Board of the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District (District) Financing Authority ("Authority"), and to represent the District on outside bodies, with consent of the full Board.

DISCUSSION

Standing Committees

Board Policy 1.04 on *Committees* states that the Board President appoints Board members to annual Standing Committees and to represent the District on outside bodies, with the consent of the Board. According to Board Policy 1.04, appointments to the standing committees are made at the first regular meeting following the meeting at which officers of the Board are elected. The five Board Standing Committees are:

- 1. Action Plan and Budget Committee (ABC)
- 2. Legislative, Funding and Public Affairs Committee (LFPAC)
- 3. Planning and Natural Resources Committee (PNR)
- 4. Real Property Committee (RPC)
- 5. Board Appointee Evaluation Committee (BAE)

Following the Board Policy on Committees, the Board Treasurer Curt Riffle will be assigned as one of the three members of ABC. Also, the Board Appointee Evaluation Committee shall include the Board President Jed Cyr and Vice-President Craig Gleason as two of the three members of the Committee.

The proposed committee assignments for 2025 are as follows:

R-25-11 Page 2

Action Plan and Budget:

- Curt Riffle (Treasurer)
- Margaret MacNiven
- Zoe Kersteen-Tucker

Board Appointee Evaluation:

- Jed Cyr (President)
- Craig Gleason, Vice-President
- Curt Riffle

Legislative, Funding, and Public Affairs:

- Craig Gleason
- Karen Holman
- Margaret MacNiven

Planning and Natural Resources:

- Yoriko Kishimoto
- Curt Riffle
- Zoe Kersteen-Tucker

Real Property:

- Karen Holman
- Yoriko Kishimoto
- Craig Gleason

Financing Authority

The Governing Board of the Financing Authority consists of five members. In accordance with the Joint Powers Agreement and its bylaws, the District's Board President Jed Cyr shall automatically be the Chairperson of the Authority, and the Board Treasurer Curt Riffle shall also serve on the Authority Board. Two of the other four members are appointed by the Board President, to be selected from among the District's Board of Directors. The fifth member is the member of the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors whose district encompasses the greatest territory of the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District, and who is appointed to the Board of the Financing Authority by the Chairman of the Board of Supervisors. Supervisor Margaret Abe-Koga has been assigned to serve on the Authority Board once appointed by the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors.

Governing Board of the Financing Authority

- o Jed Cyr, President
- o Craig Gleason Vice President
- o Curt Riffle, Treasurer
- Karen Holman

Representation at Outside Bodies Appointed by the District

Board members also represent the District on various external bodies. These positions are compensable. The assignments for external bodies are as follows:

R-25-11 Page 3

 Santa Clara County Special District's Association – Craig Gleason, Alternate: Yoriko Kishimoto

- San Mateo County Special District's Association Zoe Kersteen-Tucker
- Santa Clara Valley Water Commission Jed Cyr
- California Joint Powers Insurance Authority Delegate Jed Cyr, President
 - California Joint Powers Insurance Authority Alternate Craig Gleason, Vice-President
 - o California Joint Powers Insurance Authority Alternate Ana Ruiz
 - o California Joint Powers Insurance Authority Alternate Stefan Jaskulak

Meeting Compensation

Board Policy 6.06 (Meeting Compensation, Reimbursement of Authorized Necessary Expenses for Performance of Official Duties, and Adoption of Ethics Training Requirements Pursuant to Government Code Section 53232 et seq. (AB1234)) of the Board Policy Manual states that all Standing Committees are compensable and compensability for attendance of Ad Hoc Committee meetings is determined on an as-needed basis by the Board. It is recommended that Board members be compensated for attendance at all Board, Committee, Financing Authority meetings, including Ad Hoc Committees, and at meetings where the Board member is the District's appointed representative.

In accordance with California Public Resources Code section 5536 and Board Policy 6.06, each District Board member may receive compensation in an amount not to exceed one hundred and twenty-one dollars and twenty-eight cents (\$121.28) per day for each attendance at a Board meeting. On January 8, 2025, the Board approved Resolution 25-01, which authorized compensating Board members for up to six meetings per month. Accordingly, with seven Board members, the maximum the entire Board can receive is \$61,125.12 per year. State law also allows the Board to consider increasing the per-meeting compensation by up to 5% for each calendar year by ordinance. The District's current proposed budget for Board meeting compensation is \$49,350 for fiscal year 2024-25 and is anticipated to be sufficient given the variation in number of meetings per month for each Board Director. If it is later determined that additional funds are required, a budget adjustment may be requested.

Representation on Outside Bodies not Appointed nor Compensable by the District

Board members may also be appointed by external authorities to serve on outside bodies. The District recognizes the value these connections provide to the Board. These positions are not compensable by the District. The assignments for these external bodies are as follows:

- Bay Conservation and Development Commission Yoriko Kishimoto
- Santa Clara County Local Agency Formation Commission Independent Special District Yoriko Kishimoto
- San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority Board Karen Holman

FISCAL IMPACT

No new or incremental fiscal impact associated with this specific action is anticipated. Board compensation is included in the annual budget.

R-25-11 Page 4

PRIOR BOARD COMMITTEE REVIEW

This item is annually brought to the full Board for review and approval.

PUBLIC NOTICE

Public Notice was provided pursuant to the requirements of the Brown Act. No further notice is required.

CEQA COMPLIANCE

This proposed action is not a project under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) and no environmental review is required.

NEXT STEPS

If approved, staff will prepare a new roster of Board Committee assignments for posting internally and on the District website.

Responsible Department Manager:

Ana Ruiz, General Manager

Prepared by:

Maria Soria, District Clerk/Assistant to the General Manager

Contact person:

Jed Cyr, Board President