

R-20-14 Meeting 20-03 January 27, 2021

AGENDA ITEM 2

AGENDA ITEM

Appointment of Board of Directors Standing Committee Members and Representatives to Various Bodies, Including the Governing Board of the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District Financing Authority, for Calendar Year 2021

BOARD PRESIDENT'S RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the Board President's appointments to the Board Standing Committees and other bodies, including the Governing Board of the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District Financing Authority, and determine the compensable status for attendance at these meetings.

SUMMARY

Every year, the newly elected Board President appoints members to each of the Board's Standing Committees, the Governing Board of the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District (District) Financing Authority ("Authority"), and to represent the District on outside bodies, with consent of the full Board.

DISCUSSION

Standing Committees

The Board Policy on Committees (1.04) states that the Board President appoints Board members to annual Standing Committees and to represent the District on outside bodies, with the consent of the Board. According to Board Policy 1.04, appointments to the standing committees are made at the first regular meeting following the meeting at which officers of the Board are elected. The five Board Standing Committees are:

- 1. Action Plan and Budget Committee (ABC)
- 2. Legislative, Funding and Public Affairs Committee (LFPAC)
- 3. Planning and Natural Resources Committee (PNR)
- 4. Real Property Committee (RPC)
- 5. Board Appointee Evaluation Committee (BAE)

Following the Board Policy on Committees, Director Kishimoto (Board Treasurer) will be assigned as one of the three members of ABC. Also, the Board Appointee Evaluation Committee shall include the Board President (Riffle) and Vice-President (Kersteen-Tucker) as two of the three members of the Committee.

The proposed committee assignments for 2021 are as follows:

R-20-14 Page 2

Action Plan and Budget:

- Jed Cyr
- Larry Hassett
- Yoriko Kishimoto

Board Appointee Evaluation:

- Karen Holman
- Zoe Kersteen-Tucker
- Curt Riffle

Legislative, Funding, and Public Affairs:

- Jed Cyr
- Larry Hassett
- Karen Holman

Planning and Natural Resources:

- Karen Holman
- Zoe Kersteen-Tucker
- Yoriko Kishimoto

Real Property:

- Larry Hassett
- Zoe Kersteen-Tucker
- Pete Siemens

Financing Authority

The Governing Board of the Authority consists of five members. In accordance with the Joint Powers Agreement and its bylaws, the District's Board President (Riffle) shall automatically be the Chairperson of the Authority, and the Board Treasurer (Kishimoto) shall also serve on the Authority Board. Two of the other four members are appointed by the Board President, to be selected from among the District's Board of Directors. The fifth member is the member of the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors whose district encompasses the greatest territory of the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District, and who is appointed to the Board of the Financing Authority by the Chairman of the Board of Supervisors. Supervisor Simitian continues to serve on the Authority Board as appointed by the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors.

Governing Board of the Financing Authority

- o Karen Holman
- Yoriko Kishimoto
- o Pete Siemens
- o Curt Riffle

Outside Bodies

Board members also represent the District on various external bodies. The assignments for external bodies are as follows:

- Santa Clara County Special District's Association Pete Siemens
- San Mateo County Special District's Association Zoe Kersteen-Tucker

R-20-14 Page 3

- Santa Clara Valley Water District Water Commission Jed Cyr
- Santa Clara County Local Agency Formation Commission Independent Special District Representative Yoriko Kishimoto
- San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority Karen Holman
- California Joint Powers Insurance Authority Delegate Curt Riffle
 - o California Joint Powers Insurance Authority Alternate Zoe Kersteen-Tucker
 - o California Joint Powers Insurance Authority Alternate Ana Ruiz
 - o California Joint Powers Insurance Authority Alternate Stefan Jaskulak

Applicable Board Policies

Board Policy 6.06 (Meeting Compensation, Reimbursement of Authorized Necessary Expenses for Performance of Official Duties, and Adoption of Ethics Training Requirements Pursuant to Government Code Section 53232 et seq. (AB1234)) of the Board Policy Manual states that all Standing Committees are compensable and compensability for attendance of Ad Hoc Committee meetings is determined on an as-needed basis by the Board. It is recommended that Board members be compensated for attendance at all Board Committee and Authority meetings, including Ad Hoc Committees. It is further recommended that Board member attendance at meetings where the Board member is the District's appointed representative also be compensated.

In accordance with California Public Resources Code Section 5536 and Board Policy 6.06, each District Board member may receive compensation in an amount not to exceed one hundred dollars (\$105) per day for each attendance at a Board meeting (Government Code section 5536). At the January 13, 2021 Board meeting, the Board approved Resolution 20-01, which authorized compensating Board members for a maximum of six per month. Accordingly, with seven Board members, the maximum the entire Board can receive is \$52,920 per year. The District's current proposed budget for Board meeting compensation is \$38,000 for fiscal year 2020-21. If it is later determined that additional funds are required, a budget adjustment may be requested. pursuant to new law.

FISCAL IMPACT

There will be no new or incremental fiscal impact associated with this specific action. Board compensation for committee work is included in the annual budget.

BOARD COMMITTEE REVIEW

This item is annually brought to the full Board for review and approval.

PUBLIC NOTICE

Public Notice was provided pursuant to the requirements of the Brown Act. No further notice is required.

CEQA COMPLIANCE

This proposed action is not a project under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) and no environmental review is required.

R-20-14 Page 4

NEXT STEPS

If approved, staff will prepare a new roster of Board Committee assignments for posting internally and on the District website.

Responsible Department Manager: Ana Ruiz, General Manager

Prepared by:

Jennifer Woodworth, District Clerk/Assistant to the General Manager

Contact person: Curt Riffle, Board President