

Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District

R-19-02 Meeting 19-01 January 9, 2019

# AGENDA ITEM

# AGENDA ITEM 1

Election of the Calendar Year 2019 Officers for the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District Board of Directors

# GENERAL MANAGER'S RECOMMENDATION

Elect Officers of the Board of Directors for Calendar Year 2019.

# SUMMARY

Pursuant to Board Policy 1.06 (*Board Officers*), the Board is required to elect new officers for the calendar year at its first regular meeting in January. The election will be held by signed ballot and counted by the District Clerk. After the election, the ballots will be available for public inspection.

# DISCUSSION

Public Resources Code §5500 requires the Board to elect from its members a President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary at the first regular meeting in January of each year. The duties of each officer are outlined as follows:

President: The President shall be the presiding officer of the Board and shall assume his/her place and duties as such immediately following his/her election. The presiding officer shall preserve order at all meetings of the Board, announce its decisions on all subjects, and decide all questions of order, subject to an appeal to the Board. S/he shall participate in debate, make motions, and vote on all questions as other members of the Board. The President shall sign all Board-approved ordinances, resolutions, contracts and conveyances on behalf of the District, shall sign financial instruments as appropriate, and s/he shall perform such other duties as may be imposed upon him/her by the Board.

Vice-President: In the absence of the President, or in the event of his/her inability to act, the Vice-President shall perform all the powers and duties of the President.

Treasurer: The Treasurer shall be a member of the Budget Committee and shall sign financial instruments as appropriate.

Secretary: The Secretary shall countersign all ordinances and resolutions, and the District Clerk shall countersign all contracts and conveyances approved by the Board.

Board Policy 1.06 lists the order of officers to be elected as follows: President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary. Each Board Officer will be elected by a separate vote starting with a call for nominations from the Board. Following the close of nominations, election of each Board Officer will proceed by signed ballot and counted by the District Clerk. The Director receiving a majority of the vote of the members of the Board will be elected. Each of the four Board officers will be elected using this procedure. After the election, the ballots will be available to the public for inspection.

# FISCAL IMPACT

There is no fiscal impact of this item.

# **BOARD COMMITTEE REVIEW**

Board Committee review of this agenda item is not required.

# **PUBLIC NOTICE**

Notice was provided pursuant to the Brown Act. No additional notice is necessary.

# **CEQA COMPLIANCE**

No compliance is required as this action is not a project under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA).

# NEXT STEPS

Following the election of Board officers, staff will prepare a new roster for posting and notify the Secretary of State.

Attachments:

1. History of Board Officers 2000-2018

Responsible Department Manager: Ana Ruiz, General Manager

Prepared by: Jennifer Woodworth, District Clerk/Assistant to the General Manager

### **Board Officer History**

#### 2000

President – Kenneth C. Nitz Vice-President – Pete Siemens Treasurer – Mary Davey Secretary – Jed Cyr

#### 2001

President – Pete Siemens Vice-President – Deane Little Treasurer – Ken Nitz Secretary – Larry Hassett

2002 President – Deane Little Vice-President – Nonette Hanko Treasurer – Ken Nitz Secretary – Larry Hassett

#### 2003

President – Nonette Hanko Vice-President – Mary Davey Treasurer – Larry Hassett Secretary – Ken Nitz

2004 President – Mary Davey Vice-President – Larry Hassett Treasurer – Jed Cvr Secretary – Pete Siemens

#### 2005

President – Larry Hassett Vice-President – Jed Cyr Treasurer – Pete Siemens Secretary – Nonette Hanko

### 2006

President – Jed Cyr Vice-President – Ken Nitz Treasurer – Mary Davey Secretary – Nonette Hanko

#### 2007

President – Ken Nitz Vice-President – Pete Siemens Treasurer – Curt Riffle Secretary – Mary Davey

2008 President – Pete Siemens Vice-President – Nonette Hanko Treasurer – Ken Nitz Secretary – Mary Davey

#### 2009

President - Nonette Hanko Vice-President – Mary Davey **Treasurer - Curt Riffle** Secretary - Jed Cyr

#### 2010 President – Mary Davey Vice-President – Larry Hassett Treasurer – Curt Riffle Secretary – Jed Cyr

#### 2011 President – Larry Hassett

Vice-President – Curt Riffle **Treasurer – Pete Siemens** Secretary – Cecily Harris

#### 2012

President – Curt Riffle Vice-President – Jed Cyr Treasurer – Pete Siemens Secretary – Yoriko Kishimoto

#### 2013

2014

President – Jed Cyr Vice-President – Cecily Harris Treasurer – Pete Siemens Secretary – Yoriko Kishimoto

President – Cecily Harris Vice-President – Pete Siemens Treasurer – Curt Riffle Secretary – Larry Hassett

2015 President – Pete Siemens Vice-President – Yoriko Kishimoto Treasurer – Curt Riffle Secretary – Jed Cyr

2016 President – Yoriko Kishimoto Vice-President –Larry Hassett Treasurer – Curt Riffle Secretary – Cecily Harris

2017 President – Larry Hassett Vice-President – Curt Riffle Treasurer – Jed Cyr Secretary –Pete Siemens

2018

President – Jed Cyr Vice-President – Cecily Harris (through 10/10/18); Pete Siemens (beginning 10/24/18) Treasurer – Curt Riffle Secretary – Yoriko Kishimoto